capital city

Botswana was a British protectorate for over 80 years until attaining independence from Britain on 30th September 1966. Since then, the Republic of Botswana has gained the status of one of the most developed and stable countries in Southern Africa.

Botswana is a landlocked country, bordered by Zimbabwe, Zambia, Namibia and South Africa, with a surface of 600 370 km² – that is the size of France.

Formerly known as Bechuanaland, Botswana is named after its most dominant and largest tribe known as the Tswana or Batswana, with the national language known as Setswana and official language as English.

A year-round safari destination, Botswana is home to some of the most renowned and unique game reserves and habitats in Africa. More than 17% of the country is set aside as national parks or game reserves and the government is highly committed to wildlife conservation and ensuring a low impact tourism policy in place.

The mysterious Okavango Delta and its floods, the mesmerising Makgadikgadi Salt Pans and the elephant’s capital city of Chobe National Park, just to mention a few, will certainly provide travellers with an intimate, game rich and exclusive safari experience.